Around the house clothes

I like to say that I don’t say things like “There are two kinds of people in the world…” but sometimes there are those decisive things that group people into one category or another. Like whether you immediately change clothes when you get home from work or school.

For as long as I can remember, I’ve had an around the house wardrobe — an entire set of clothes dedicated exclusively to being worn around the house (and in proximity to the house, like for checking the mail and walking the dog). It’s what I’m used to, and it just feels so right. The fact that my husband wears his outside clothes around the house baffles me. “Those pants have touched public spaces!” I say, and I feel sorry for him for not being as comfortable as he could be.

Now, it’s not like I change into pajamas the second I get home (although I wouldn’t put it past myself to on a particularly bad or lazy day) — it’s a little more deliberate than that. It’s like the adult version of play clothes that are worn specifically between public clothes o’clock and bedtime clothes time. And while there are very few rules to it, there is this: elastic waistband pants are a requisite and “yoga clothes” are perfectly acceptable only if there is no intention whatsoever of exercising. Around the house clothes are not intended for physical activity that may result in breaking a sweat. That’s what “workout clothes” are for.

I realize this all might sound kind of crazy to those of you out there who don’t engage in around the house clothes behavior, but I’m pretty sure it makes perfect sense to those of you who do (my people!). …I’m not alone in this, right?

One thought on “Around the house clothes

Leave a Reply

