Smitten

I’m not too into blogs (I know, not very supportive of me), but the couple that I read, I like a lot. One of them is Smitten Kitchen, which I have yet to cook anything from (although I’ve copy-and-paste emailed myself many recipes), but I’m a weirdo who likes looking at food photos and reading the ingredients (for inspiration).

I happened upon Smitten’s Flickr page today and then I won’t say how many hours later, have fallen into a deep jealousy over her life. She lives in a tiny apartment in Manhattan with a kitchen one-third the size of mine (even mine in New York), with her husband and to-die-for-adorable toddler son, and she cooks and blogs, and cooks and blogs some more, and she got a book deal out of it, and is one of the most popular bloggers in the world (I don’t know this to be a fact, but I don’t think it’s a lie). As far as I’m concerned, that’s a perfect (-ly imperfect) life!

On  a related note, I’ve recently been deemed by my boyfriend as a downer about LA, and told that we live here now and in a nutshell, I have to get over missing NY. So I’ve been trying (and a couple of times, mildly succeeding) to be more positive about my “circumstance.” Positivity Training, I’ve been calling it. (Meh.)

You know what doesn’t help with my PT? It’s how people are always pointing out how great the weather here is. I can see what they mean, but I’d take four seasons over one any day. And sunny and seventy-five everyday has its pitfalls too, like making my turtlenecks and coats obsolete, and having to spend a small fortune on sunblock and still the left side of my body is three shades darker than the right side (I really should keep sunblock in my car). Besides, I think weather, unless your alternative is Siberia (or for some reason, have a medical condition that requires you to wear flip-flops), is a pretty lame thing to focus on. I mean, what do people in Seattle say, “…But the salmon’s great!”?

Leave a Reply

