Cock-a-doodle-doo

I’ve been back in LA for one week now, and am already wondering to myself, “How did I manage to live here for five years and not lose my mind?”

Case in point, thus far I’ve seen/heard: Three trannies (including one that was possibly trying to hit on my boyfriend), one snaking casting call line, numerous conversations about auditions, I’ve been backed into by an SUV driver whose highly valid excuse was “I wasn’t paying attention,” and I keep hearing a rooster. Yes, a rooster.

My backyard is CBS, and I can only guess that they have a rooster as some sort of anti-NBC peacock mascot. That or else they have a cock-a-doodle-doo church bell type of thing going on, because I hear that rooster all day long. (Now, I’m a city girl, but aren’t roosters only supposed to scream out in the early morning hours – why is this one such an overachiever?).

Old habits are hard to break, and I am definitely in a New York state of mind. I’m having a tough time adjusting to the more suburban way of life here in California. I want to keep walking everywhere like I’m used to, but no one here walks and things that are close are even kind of far away, and the temperature drops twenty degrees at night so it requires a change of wardrobe. And then there are the pedestrians who don’t know how to cross the street and the drivers who don’t know how to drive the street (and not back up into a car right behind them who is blaring the horn!).

Lest this not lead you to believe that I have idealized Manhattan or the MTA. I have had my share of obstacles and frustrations with my beloved NYC too. But I’d kind of gotten used to the hardships there, and in that misery-loves-company sort of way, I at least could see other people sweating along with me on the subway platform in July’s heat, or murmuring obscenities when the bus drives by without stopping, or laughing at the subway car with the dead guy on it that people accidentally walk into and are stuck riding until the next stop…

Come to think of it, maybe LA isn’t so bad after all.

Leave a Reply

