New York, New York

I started writing this journal of my musings – my observations, ups, downs, and in-betweens – as a New Yorker. It wouldn’t have been the same anyplace else. I am bittersweetly, for loving purpose, leaving New York City. But this is not goodbye. It’s just goodnight.

I’ve pounded plenty of your pavements,

I’ve walked a hundred of your miles in my shoes,

I’ve breathed your cold air, warm air, damp air, and dry,

I’ve ridden your 4,5,6,1,2,3,E,V,N,R,W,7, and L (to name a few).

I’ve meandered your meadows and traversed your tracks,

I’ve stood in awe of your presence, your stature, your power, your strength,

Your immodesty, your wit, your charm, and your grace.

Grandiose as you are, you remind me how small I am,

I bask in your glory,

And marvel in your history, your present, and your future.

You don’t make it easy,

But nothing ever worth it is.

The best of the best, that’s what you represent,

And you deserve nothing less.

I thank you for every challenge, obstacle, roadblock, and burden,

You’ve made me stronger, and more confident.

The adage is, if you can make it here, you can make it anywhere,

I wouldn’t want to be anywhere else but here.

I’m leaving for a time, a season, a reason,

With the glimmer of hope to one day return,

To your good graces, your bosom, your light,

New York, New York,

Goodnight.

One thought on “New York, New York

  1. This is a sad poem; I can see and feel how much you loved living in NY. I’m sure you will come back, I hope soon. Although I have a choice to go to NY, but I don’t like to be in NY without you being there. I Love you and I miss you very much Bache.

Leave a Reply

