Oh The Tangled Web

I came to the realization today that the Internet is one big oxymoron.

The light bulb moment came to me as I was so tangled up in the web of the Web that I found myself flipping through an online gossip site’s photo gallery called “Celebrity Cheaters (Allegedly).” (I didn’t know about Sandra Bullock’s woes – that really sucks, especially since the general consensus was that she married down. But I digress…).

The oxymoron:

The Internet has made me smarter through instantaneous and unlimited access to encyclopedias, articles, dictionaries, and thesauri.

But it’s made me dumber through having things like that photo gallery, and food challenge videos on You Tube at my fingertips. If I never see another idiot trying to swallow a spoonful of cinnamon, or snort wasabi, it’ll be too soon.

It’s connected me to faraway friends through Facebook.

It’s disconnected me from friends who rely on wall posts as conversation.

It has given me a means to look up directions, recipes, and any information I could possibly be curious to know.

It has caused me to use my brain less to figure things out and challenge my memory.

It’s been a source of joy, like when I’m looking at photos of my family in our online photo albums.

It’s been a source of frustration when a page when load fast enough.

It can be totally mindless.

Or it can be mindful and enriching, like when I use it to write and share with you all.

When I’m away from it, I miss it and wonder what am I missing by not being on it.

When I am away from it, I feel lighter for not having the responsibility of being tied to it.

It causes me to sit still for much longer than is healthy.

I remember life before it.

And I can’t imagine life without it.

What if it suddenly went away one day? What would become of human interactions and communications without it? Could we ever go back?

Leave a Reply

