Let’s hear it for New York!

I am currently obsessed with this song, Empire State of Mind. It has this great vibration to it, just like the city it pays homage to, and it vocalizes my own pride in being a New Yorker. I love this city. I was out at the Central Park Reservoir tonight at sunset, and every time I see the Manhattan skyline it takes my breath away. This is one beautiful city!

Of all the places I’ve ever lived, this is the only one that speaks to me, the only one whose heartbeat I can hear. The energy is palpable, and it does inspire me. I take a lot of walks when I’m alone – it’s my me time, my time to entertain all my thoughts or my time to erase all thoughts – and as the song says, the streets make me feel brand new.

Nearing the end of 2009, I can’t believe that 357 days have passed so quickly, and I’m taking some time to contemplate the panorama of this year. It’s had its ups and downs. I lost some things, like a job and a very important person in my life, and I also gained some things, like maybe the most important person in my life; and I have hope that my dream job will come in due time, as will all my dreams. And as the counter turns to 2010, I will keep being me, and keep surrounding myself with inspiration and the virtues that are my truth.

I’m looking back and smiling, and looking forward and smiling. I hope you are too.

One thought on “Let’s hear it for New York!

  1. I like how you view life…that’s my girl…keep up the positive thoughts and you will get all you deserve…the best of everything in life…

Leave a Reply

