Jingle Bills

The holidays can be a stressful time for a lot of people. Family gatherings, gifts, crowded stores, traveling, tourists… It just doesn’t make for the most relaxing scene. Christmas is my favorite time of year, and it’s so magical here in the city that normally I feel nothing short of joy, joy joy! Even the annoyingly clueless tourists who stretch six-wide on the sidewalk and stop abruptly to stare up or down or at a map can’t shake the smile off my frozen little face in December. This year though, I find myself feeling bummed out and edgy. That’s what being jobless, a year older, and on the cusp of a new year with no prospescts will do to a person. It makes me long for my own kind – adults I can relate to and who understand my pain. I should start a support group for us – we can sit around like we’re in AA and binge on coffee and donuts. We can devise a 12-step plan for success, and we can have sponsors who we call when we’re about to do something drastic like rob a bank. Which, these days, is starting to sound like as good a career plan as any.

Leave a Reply

