T.M.I.

The topic of relationship status on Facebook recently came up, which prompted my boyfriend and I to get into a discussion about whether we should put “In a Relationship” on our profiles. When we first started dating, he made the sweet and not-so-subtle gesture of removing “Single” from his profile, and I appreciated it. I liked it. It showed some semblance of seriousness, and frankly, I tend to judge people who list Single on their profiles, so it was nice to not have to risk making fun of him, pointing out, “This is Facebook, not eHarmony.”

This whole thing got me thinking about how dating in the digital era has a whole slew of complications that didn’t exist back in the good ol days. And I’ve come to the conclusion that there is too much information out there. I say this as a person who has a blog, and is pretty active on Facebook, yet I have some serious privacy issues too, as oxymoronic as that is to say. I think somewhere deep down in all of us is a longing to be a celebrity of sorts, or to be popular at least. Or in my case, to express myself (for my own amusement as much as yours). And I think that most people don’t think about how exposed they are to anyone and everyone when putting personal information online. Personally, I’m a nut about tweaking my privacy settings, so that nobody who doesn’t already know me can even find me, but I get how that kind of isn’t the point of social networking. It’s more like keeping in touch the way I do it. And that’s good for me, that’s all I want out of Facebook.

So when it came to that discussion about Facebook relationship status, turns out that neither of us cared about it, yet we cared to debate about it for ten minutes:

Me: “I don’t care if we do or we don’t, it’s totally irrelevant, but if we do, we should both do it, cuz I think it’s lame when the girl does it and the guy doesn’t.”

Him: “Well, I don’t care either, but yeah, both people should do it. You decide.”

Me: “I don’t care either. I’ve never had that category filled in, but you did. You decide.”

Him: “I don’t know, I mean, I’m cool with doing it, but do you think it’s bad luck?”

Me: “Bad luck? What? No. Why would changing a Facebook status change reality?”

Him: “Well, I’m superstitious.”

Me: “Well, I’m not. So you decide since you’re the superstitious one.”

Him: “No, you decide. You brought it up.”

Me: “No, I didn’t. It came up, and then I mentioned my friend saying that she thought it was important to change her status so guys wouldn’t try to friend her for flirty reasons, and I said that doesn’t apply to me anyway because strangers can’t friend me, and everyone who knows me knows I have a boyfriend anyhow.”

Him: “Well, I don’t care. You can decide. Whatever you want.”

Me: “Baby, come on, you’re superstitious, you have to be the one to decide because I really don’t care.”

Him: “I have a headache.”

Me: “Well, then let’s just leave it the way it is. We can always change it later if we care later.”

Ten minutes of my life I will never get back.

P.S. Facebook employee, if you’re reading this, can you please explain to me why the category “sex” exists? I mean, who wouldn’t be able to tell the sex of another person from their name and/or profile picture? And maybe if ya can’t deduce that small bit of truth, then you probably shouldn’t be friending that person. Just a thought.

One thought on “T.M.I.

Leave a Reply

