The Simple Life

I’m noticing a pattern as I get older, and that’s my desire for a less complicated life. Go figure I would move to New York City of all places, in light of this! I am a pretty complex person to start with – I tend to feel things deeply and passionately (or not at all), but I am dropping excess baggage, both literally and figuratively. I’ve moved something like 17 times in the past 8 years, and twice cross coastal, taking only what fit into my car with me. The detachment from stuff  was liberating, and symbolic too.

I told you in an earlier post that I un-friended some of my acquaintances on Facebook, and that was something I hesitated to do for a while, but I feel lighter to have done. I like being liked (I mean, who doesn’t?), and I adore witty banter, but these days, I am more prone towards keeping my life and my interpersonal relationships on the simpler side.  Quality versus quantity, shall we say.

This is the same reason that I hate all-you-can-eat food buffets. Give me three things and make them great, and I’ll take that over three-hundred mediocre things any day.

One thought on “The Simple Life

  1. I can relate. Had a year of letting go of toxic relationships and keeping my FB to people I want to know more than the occasional “see each other out”. It does feel good to let go of what weighs us down, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

